My garden of life seems to have it’s own path.


Whether you are aware of it or not, you are part of life in my “garden.” The very fact that you are reading this article confirms that.

Consider for one moment, if I was without any readership, these letters would just be words on an webpage without much meaning.  It is my family, friends, and readers who give me inspiration to continue writing and sharing my ideas and for that I am eternally grateful.

How many people do you suppose you have met in your lifetime? Probably somewhere in the hundreds or thousands? It is utterly impossible to quantify yet somehow this number seems important.

I recently lost a dear friend to what I like to refer to as the “dark side” of the garden. She cannot see the positivity in life any more unless it is with a bottle and anything else that numbs her heart and mind. I have planted many seeds for her, but I can do nothing more because her choices have now started to affect my path in this garden called life.   When the bad weeds begin to take over, you need to pluck them, replant and start over or risk losing the entire garden. As hard as it was, I had to walk away to save what little we had left of our friendship.

The strongest people are the ones who often need help the most, but they can never seem to take it.

I do not pass judgement, I simply wait in  the hope that the “weeds” she has chosen to surround herself with will wither and die quickly.

Ironically, at the same time, I met an old friend who has turned a new leaf.  He put his “weeds” in a box and buried seeds in a new garden. I barely remembered him, however, as he was telling me his story, I felt so proud of his accomplishments. I began to ask myself, “How important is this person in my life? Why has this news impacted me so much? Why do I even care?” A person of faith might argue that it was God who sent him to me in order to remind me that while one garden may seem lost, there are many others that are sprouting and I need to surround myself with them.

Whatever the reason, I realized, I care because it is who I am.  

I care about people, I always have.  This is what makes me who I am and if nothing else, I am proud of that.

Caring about others is not a job for the weak.  It is one difficult because you get hurt often.

I used to think being so strong was a curse because when you are helping everyone, you can never get help. I finally realized, I am strong because I need to be and that is fine with me!

Leave a Reply

